By in Personal

Introduction for EmeseReka

I am a freelance writer and translator, who also knits and occasionally designs knitwear. Most importantly though I am a mother of three children, ranging in age from 18 to 9. I tried to be there for my children during their younger years, so I haven't been actively writing much, only if I was specifically asked. I have been translating articles and a few full length books during the time my kids were younger. Before moving to the US, I studied linguistics, foreign languages and literature, then I was a teacher for middle and high school grade children. I taught English as a foreign language. When I had the opportunity to visit a true English speaking country, I came to visit the US. The visit was supposed to last about six months. A few weeks after arriving I met my husband, and as a result, I am still here, more than twenty years later. Traveling is our greatest hobby as a family. We do a lot of it, and we try to stay off the beaten track most of the time. We like out of the way places and we try to live like the locals when we are abroad. I have always felt that the best education for any child is through seeing the world, seeing how people in other places live, so we've used our travels as a tool for it. As a result, most of my writing tends to focus on travel and places to visit. I have been writing since I remember, and have had articles published in a few magazines, I really started taking it seriously only a few months ago. I hope to extend my audience by contributing to Personapaper

You will need an account to comment - feel free to register or login.


MelissaE wrote on April 23, 2015, 9:02 PM

Nice to meet you. You will enjoy your time here.

peachpurple wrote on May 1, 2015, 3:33 AM

my kids haven't met the world yet. Mine are 8 and 20 years old, all the while we had been living in malaysia, never left our foot yet. I wish to visit Korea but ...

iwrite28 wrote on May 10, 2015, 1:22 PM

Welcome to Persona Paper. Where were you from before moving to the US?

EmeseReka wrote on July 30, 2015, 4:34 PM

Hi, thank you for your comment, nice to meet you too :) Sorry it's taken me so long to get back to you. I plan on spending more time here as school starts.

EmeseReka wrote on July 30, 2015, 4:39 PM

I hope you get to travel soon. My kids are 9, 17 and 18, the oldest in college, the youngest in elementary school.... it's been challenging, but traveling is a lot easier from the US than from any other country.... especially if you know how to do it on a budget. Thank you for stopping by.

EmeseReka wrote on July 30, 2015, 4:41 PM

Thank you. Sorry it's taken me so long to respond, I haven't logged back in for a long time.... I grew up in Transylvania, which is part of Romania.