By in Books

Review: 'In the Company of Liars' by David Ellis

"In the Company of Liars" is thriller/suspense author David Ellis' fourth novel, published in 2006. It is my introduction to Ellis' novels, a total of 12 which have been published to date.

The book opens with the death, an apparent suicide, of Alison Pagone, a published author and defendant in a sensational murder trial. Her body is discovered by two FBI agents who have had reasons of their own to have an interest in the woman -- and those reasons have very little to do with whether she is guilty or innocent of the murder with which she is charged.

Then the author used a technique that is at first baffling, but then quickly sweeps the reader deeper into the story: Ellis made use of reverse chronology.

As a reader, I was initially taken aback at this technique and began to wonder how a plot resolution would be reached. Hang on to your seats, though, because you'll soon forget all about the order of the action as you become engrossed in the secrets and lies that abound. By mid-book, you'll no longer know who are the "good guys" and the "bad guys."

"In the Company of Liars" is one of Ellis' five stand alone novels. He has co-authored three novels with James Patterson and authored four books in the Jason Kolarich series. I don't know about you, but my reading appetite has been whet. I want to read some of Ellis' other offerings.

| | | |


Image Credit » DavidEllis.com Media Room http://davidellis.com/media-room/

You will need an account to comment - feel free to register or login.

Comments

alexdg1 wrote on October 16, 2014, 2:16 PM

Great review. I hardly ever read mystery thrillers; they make me feel dumb!

According2Beverly wrote on October 16, 2014, 3:38 PM

I love reading James Patterson and have seen this author, but never really picked up one of his books. It would be the cover that didn't catch my eyes. I'll have to check him out next time we head to the book store...it isn't around the corner...it's a day trip for us. So when we have plans for a road trip I will remember to add him to the list.

Question: How do you get the tags to show up on the post? I didn't see a place to enter tags or keywords. That would be great to include on my next post. Let me know when you get a chance, thanks!

Jerry_Walch wrote on October 16, 2014, 9:25 PM

An excellent review, but a very unfair one as well, at least for me. My brother in-law's name is Pagone, so now I have to buy and read this book. Patterson is one of my favorite authors too.

Feisty56 wrote on October 16, 2014, 9:47 PM

Why do they make you feel dumb -- because you can't guess whodunit? That's the mark of a great author and story. : )

Feisty56 wrote on October 16, 2014, 9:49 PM

Just use the hash tag # prior to the word or phrase you wish to tag. : )

I'm afraid I get my books from the public library, but because I live only blocks away, this is convenient for me.

Feisty56 wrote on October 16, 2014, 9:50 PM

Patterson has been really prolific of late, hasn't he?

Sorry about the coincidence of last names -- but I think you'll enjoy the read.

paigea wrote on October 16, 2014, 10:12 PM

I am sure I would like this book. My list is getting long!

Feisty56 wrote on October 16, 2014, 10:22 PM

That's okay -- the cold weather is coming. It will be time to get cozy and read, read, read.

angelseguera wrote on October 17, 2014, 5:22 AM

I like your post and hope you can share more of it

Feisty56 wrote on October 17, 2014, 8:19 AM

Thank you and thanks for dropping by to read and comment.

Jerry_Walch wrote on October 17, 2014, 8:45 AM

Yes, he certainly has and I only wish that I had enough time to read all the books that I would like to read.

Akshar wrote on October 17, 2014, 2:42 PM

i never read a novel by david ellis, but your review created some interest in me.. i am going to check his novels now emoticon :smile:

LoudMan wrote on October 18, 2014, 6:33 AM

If I ever find time to read fiction again, I might check it out.

BarbRad wrote on October 18, 2014, 2:25 PM

Sounds like something I might like to read if I had a block of time where I could read without stopping. Great review.

Feisty56 wrote on October 18, 2014, 3:18 PM

Whenever I read a new author, I'm never sure how the "relationship" is going to go, but I was well-pleased and held captive by this novel. I am now reading the same author's "Jury of One."

Feisty56 wrote on October 18, 2014, 3:20 PM

Of all the mystery/crime/thriller authors I have read in recent years, I would recommend anything by David Baldacci as the go-to novels. Don't get me wrong, Ellis is good and I don't think you'll be disappointed. But with limited reading time for fiction, you can't go wrong with Baldacci.

Feisty56 wrote on October 18, 2014, 3:21 PM

Thank you. Yes, this is one of those novels you definitely won't want to put down once you get into the rhythm of it.

shivani wrote on October 19, 2014, 1:22 AM

This Review makes me excited to watch this movie and will sure watch thanks for sharing

shivani wrote on October 19, 2014, 1:24 AM

I hope there is some movie based on this book