By in Reviews

Book Review: 'Cockroaches' by Jo Nesbo

Harry Hole, detective, may not achieve the same fame as Sherlock Holmes, but he is known to millions of readers throughout the world through the pen of Norwegian author, Jo Nesbo. "Cockroaches" is the second of what is currently ten novels in the Harry Hole series.

Hole is initially difficult to like as a protagonist. He is rough around the edges, struggles with alcoholism and eschews guidelines seemingly written in stone in the police department. Nesbo fleshes out Harry Hole a bit at a time through the story. The reader soon learns Hole is a multi-dimensional character -- like most human beings -- and he is one heck of a detective despite his methods.

In "Cockroaches," Hole is sent to Thailand on behalf of the Norwegian police and state department when the country's ambassador to Thailand is found with a knife in his back in a seedy motel. Hole is sent with instructions to keep the investigation under wraps, that scandal must be avoided at all costs.

As is the case in Nesbo's other mystery/police procedural novels, the obvious is the least helpful in solving the crime. The passion and angst of many of the novel's characters are fully fleshed out as the plot moves along at a rapid pace. Never get too comfortable reading a Nesbo novel -- the next page or chapter will send you in yet another unanticipated direction.

The Harry Hole series need not be read in any particular order as the author brings the reader up to speed in each novel.

Here's a video of author Jo Nesbo talking about writing "Cockroaches." A blurb about the novel at the author's website gives more details about this Harry Hole detective novel.

| | | | |


Image Credit » Public Domain CC0 License via Pixabay http://pixabay.com/en/blood-a-drop-of-red-blob-297828/

You will need an account to comment - feel free to register or login.

Comments

MegL wrote on September 28, 2014, 4:18 PM

Sounds like a series I would enjoy. emoticon :smile:

BarbRad wrote on September 28, 2014, 5:04 PM

Just finished a not-so-good-book that I wouldn't recommend. Should have read yours.

Feisty56 wrote on September 28, 2014, 5:16 PM

Once I begin reading one of Nesbo's novels, I can't put them down. I've been reading just one here and there so I don't go through them too quickly.

Feisty56 wrote on September 28, 2014, 5:18 PM

I don't think you'll be disappointed with any of the Harry Hole books -- I've read four so far and have found each one keeps me on the edge of my seat.

LoudMan wrote on September 28, 2014, 7:07 PM

Did you like it, yourself? Or, would my money be spent better elsewhere?

Feisty56 wrote on September 28, 2014, 8:22 PM

I get my books at the public library myself, but yes, I enjoyed this book and all the Harry Hole series that I have read thus far.

Ellis wrote on September 29, 2014, 7:15 AM

Sounds like the type of book my partner would enjoy...

SandraLPetersen wrote on September 29, 2014, 10:25 AM

I like mystery/detective/crime stories. This sounds like a series I should check out at the library. I'll have to see if they have it. Thanks for the review.

tinamarie wrote on September 29, 2014, 2:24 PM

I'm going to put this on my "need to read list". Thanks.

Feisty56 wrote on September 29, 2014, 2:35 PM

Not that the novels in this series need to be read in order, but if only to get a better flavor of the progression of detective Harry Hole and even Jo Nesbo as a writer, your partner may want to begin with the first in the series, "The Bat."

Feisty56 wrote on September 29, 2014, 2:38 PM

I've been getting my "fix" of Nesbo novels at the public library -- and if my library doesn't have one, I can search the connected libraries and have it brought to my local library. I hope you enjoy the read if you decide to make the plunge.

Feisty56 wrote on September 29, 2014, 2:38 PM

I don't think you'll regret the choice, but should you become hooked as I have, just enjoy it!

paigea wrote on October 6, 2014, 10:05 AM

I would probably enjoy these mysteries. I'll check if the library has them.

Feisty56 wrote on October 6, 2014, 11:13 AM

I don't think you'll be disappointed with any of Nesbo's novels. I'd love to know your opinion if/when you've read one or more.

paigea wrote on October 7, 2014, 7:49 PM

Our library doesn't have this book. I've reserved a book called The Son. It's an ebook, which I've never borrowed before. Now I have to learn something knew again. :D